MULTI-NOOB?s Ting->StrtTlk, Update won't install - Stuck on TEAMWIN recovery but touch is inactive.

j8ster

Sep 22, 2015
Visit site
MULTI-NOOB?s Ting->StrtTlk, Update won't install - Stuck on TEAMWIN recovery but touch is inactive.

I am a total noob and I'm terrified that I'm going to break my phone - an HTC One M7 currently on Ting. I should mention that I have started the process of moving from Ting to StraightTalk. The woman I spoke with at StraightTalk was in the process of transferring my phone number and she said the sprint SIM card was showing "expired" so she said she'd mail me a new SIM card (not here yet). I hope it will arrive tomorrow and I can call them and get the transfer done. My hope is that StraightTalk will allow me to use the Verizon network instead of sprint (which has been terrible).

• Anyone know if I will be using the Verizon network instead of Sprint when I switch to StraightTalk?
  • Any other issues related to switching the HTC One M7 from Ting to StraightTalk?
Back many months ago I started to "root" my phone and I got as far as unlocking it (bootloader shows "tampered, unlocked") and installing the "TEAMWIN" recovery environment. Whenever I get the TEAMWIN UI to display my touchscreen is inactive. I then have to reboot it (under a bright light, apparently). I have not been able to install any system updates from HTC since I tinkered with it I think... (I get an "update" prompt every morning).

My first priority is to get my service switched to StraightTalk. I then want to figure out how to get system updates from HTC. I don't really care if the phone is "rooted" (I think). I'm just a basic user. Oh... one other thing. The phone was given to me by a friend (who isn't really available to help me with it).

I think the TEAMWIN recovery is preventing the update... or, maybe the fact that I've unlocked it? No idea... but, I would like to know if I can safely remove the TEAMWIN thing since it does not seem to work.