What is the point of root and is it worth it or not

N9tShadow

Dec 10, 2011
Visit site
I am a complete noob when it comes to Android, Finally got me a Android phone the Nexus S 4g (it was free).

My question is what is the point of root and is it worth it or not, what can root devices do..

The only thing I am interested in the Tether (hotspot) but from what i read 4g can't be Tether unless you pay for the Tethering..... and the fact that 4G isn't that strong in my home.

The only reason I would use the Tether would be to play on my ps3 online when my home wireless goes out.

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Re: Rooting Question

I am a complete noob when it comes to Android, Finally got me a Android phone the Nexus S 4g (it was free).

My question is what is the point of root and is it worth it or not, what can root devices do..

The only thing I am interested in the Tether (hotspot) but from what i read 4g can't be Tether unless you pay for the Tethering..... and the fact that 4G isn't that strong in my home.

The only reason I would use the Tether would be to play on my ps3 online when my home wireless goes out.

There is quite alot of benefits to rooting beyond tethering. Many don't really understand until they actually try it. I have had members stand their ground firm for months and months about staying stock and no need to root. Once they did and they discovered custom ROMs and what they did and allow you to do with your device as far as customizing, better battery life due to custom kernels to control processor speeds and power management and much more they have been hooked and can't believe they didn't try sooner.