getting a Nexus S - what to do or get first?

Sesami

Jul 27, 2011
Visit site
So I'm going to get the Nexus S today, swapping in my HTC Evo. Since I'm still new to the smart phone/Android scene, can anyone give me some basic pointers or tips on what to do first? As far as apps or removing/adding stuff, updating and what not. What can a rooted Nexus S do? Or is there any point in trying to do that, since it's already vanilla Android? I don't know much about this, but it sounds like something I may want to tinker with eventually. How is gaming on it? I feel like I have so much to learn, and there is just too much random info everywhere.

BlackHawkA4

Drop the Bag
Sep 1, 2010
Visit site
So I'm going to get the Nexus S today, swapping in my HTC Evo. Since I'm still new to the smart phone/Android scene, can anyone give me some basic pointers or tips on what to do first? As far as apps or removing/adding stuff, updating and what not. What can a rooted Nexus S do? Or is there any point in trying to do that, since it's already vanilla Android? I don't know much about this, but it sounds like something I may want to tinker with eventually. How is gaming on it? I feel like I have so much to learn, and there is just too much random info everywhere.

It's not going to be any different than your Evo; except, in the fact that:

1- It's Vanilla
2- Higher Version of android; which, really big bang is just Google Talk Video Chat.

Do you need to root it?

1- If you want to run certain apps that need root; then, clearly, Yes.
2- If you want to flash custom roms and kernels; then, obviously. The only thing I could think of flashing is kernels for overclocking in my own interest as most roms from other devices were just making it vanilla. Some add features so to each their own if you want to.

Gaming, what are you playing? I just play emulators and ps1 works well.

Remove? Nothing.... except maybe Google Earth; which, you can't. Unless of course you root. (Weird, not really sure why).