Gallery App Slow

TZeruk

May 9, 2011
Visit site
I've searched around for an answer but haven't seemed to find a definitive one. This seems to be a problem w/ the Nexus phones in general. Whenever I connect the phone to my computer via USB and add some photos into a photo folder I created and then disconnect and load up the gallery app, it's excruciatingly slow to finish loading. Not only that, but every time I enter the gallery app it says "Loading new albums and photos".

I don't remember this problem w/ the Epic ... perhaps because that had an actual sd card. Has anyone else experienced this or found a fix for it?

Thanks in advance.

csementuh

May 4, 2011
Visit site
No fix, but I am too experiencing this problem. I am not new to Android, but I am new to having an Android phone, so this is the first time I've have this many pictures loaded on my device. What is the best way to manage a ton of pics in Android? Stock gallery (hopefully faster!) or a 3rd party app? The gallery being this slowwww and unorganized makes it very hard to manage.

oxeneers

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, the Gallery3D in 2.3.4 is terribly slow and is almost inexcusable. Google has obviously moved away from the 3D Gallery for Honeycomb and probably Ice Cream Sandwich. Instead, use JustPictures! which is an AMAZING Gallery available for Free in the Market.

If you are still in love with Gallery3D, do this.

Root your phone. Delete the app from /system/app/Gallery3DGoogle.apk and instead take the G3D from any CM7 ROM and replace it as Gallery3DGoogle.apk.

I attached the APK if you are too lazy to get it yourself.

Reactions: TZeruk

csementuh

May 4, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the advice guys! Any suggestions for a gallery app that shows pics in a hierarchy of folders they are organized in instead of lumping them all together?

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk

oxeneers

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site