I feel like I'm cheating on AT&T

Nophix

Sep 5, 2010
Visit site
AT&T has done my family well for several years. We have 8 lines with them on a family share plan, and have been mostly happy, despite living in an Edge-only area.

Well, an issue has arisen recently that forced me to have to try out another carrier. Now, keep in mind, I carry multiple devices. So, having one from each carrier is no big deal, but until now I haven'y had a reason.

We live in an Edge only area, but all around us aside from North, we are off-network. No big deal, since I still had Edge data, albeit slow. But, my maps and navigation worked, until recently.

AT&T ceased the data roaming agreement in several territories around us. The problem is, this eliminated about 70% of the area I work in. I'm an LTL truck driver, and use my maps a LOT, as well as Google to look up info on customers I don't regularly go to, which is frequent lately as we're growing. This also means my work-provided handheld ceases to work, which could provide directions, since its also on AT&T.

It's always been spotty, but I could get what I needed.

After a few hours on the phone with AT&T, it was discovered and confirmed that they did indeed drop to voice-only coverage, and the maps are sort of reflecting it.

Well, being that we're in a weird area where you have major carriers on their borders, it means spotty coverage from all carriers.

My choices were a regional carrier (US Cell, Cellcom, or Element Mobile), all of which are grossly expensive and not real reliable in the majority, or Sprint. Verizon is not available here, and is also expensive.

Well, I get the same discount from Sprint I do with AT&T because of work, and 14 days to try it out. Screw it, I gave it a shot. I'm 12 hours in and so far, I'm going to say something you won't hear often: I'm starting to like Sprint. They've made huge leaps in quality since the last time I dealt with them, and the experience I had while shopping was pretty decent.