Sprint and free tethering

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matthew Entrop

Apr 1, 2013
Visit site
Does Sprint really care if you tether without the add-on?

I've had Sprint for almost 2 years and have tethered the whole time as my primary source of internet (I live in the middle of nowhere with no good home internet services available). I've used as much as 30 gigs in a month with no problem (Constant Netflix streaming). However, I just got an upgrade and got a 4G phone. I've blown through 2.5 gigs (just tethering, another 2.5 gigs on phone) in 3 days since I got the phone. The only reason i'm worried now is due to the fact that on 4G you can blow through so much data, so fast.

Have any of you gotten the infamous letter from Sprint? I don't want to screw up my account because it's a family plan with the whole house on it. Should I be worried? I've been tethering 3G for 2 years with no problems but 4G uses way more data.

Edit: I remember seeing a thread on the Sprint Forums where a Sprint admin said to keep it on the down-low (Exact words, too), but 30 gigs isn't exactly on the down-low.
Edit2: Incase it matters it's LTE not WiMAX.

Last edited:

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
Do they care? Of course.. They want you to pay for it with the limit on it as well.

Now.. If your asking are they going to do anything about it? Most likely not.. They are very busy with NV and upgrading the towers to LTE.

Sent from my Sprint HTC One using AC forums.

Matthew Entrop

Apr 1, 2013
Visit site
Do they care? Of course.. They want you to pay for it with the limit on it as well.

Now.. If your asking are they going to do anything about it? Most likely not.. They are very busy with NV and upgrading the towers to LTE.

That's a better way to say it I suppose.

SenseMonkey

Jun 4, 2012
Visit site