The one thing that's making me hesitant on picking this phone up...

sw33ndawg

Feb 5, 2011
Visit site
The network. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with AT&T. I've been using the carrier for about two years now and have had no problems. The thing that worries me is locking myself into non-LTE for 2 years. I live smack in the middle of Philly and NYC so I'm fairly sure LTE will be available in my area within the year.. so I'd be stuck on a non-LTE phone for a year, and that would kill me. This is the main reason I'm leaning towards switching to Verizon and getting the Thunderbolt. Anyone else feel the same?

SirGeorgeKillian

Feb 11, 2011
Visit site
I live out in BFE and the only service I get now is 2 bars of Edge. If I hold my mouth right. I am sure this is an issue for the guys that live in big citys but for me out in the sticks, it isn't so much of an issue.

sw33ndawg

Feb 5, 2011
Visit site
You have to go the store to get a 1 year plan. You know all US carriers are not real 4G. It's a marketing gimmick.

4G stands for 4th generation. I read the whole article on it and another article that stated LTE is much, much, MUCH faster than HSPA+. Can anyone else confirm that ATT offers 1 year plans? Do I have to pay extra (if so how much)? I've heard that 1 year plans are unobtainable through ATT.

Last edited:

ozziedog

Jan 4, 2010
Visit site
.. Can anyone else confirm that ATT offers 1 year plans? Do I have to pay extra (if so how much)? I've heard that 1 year plans are unobtainable through ATT.[/QUOTE]

Back in 2000 before AT&T merged with Cingular I had a 1 year plan on my phone and my wife, but when we added our two kids after the merge I had to do the 2 year plan, AT&T would no longer honor the 1 year. Not saying that it is not their, just saying not their for me.

textiaac

Dec 2, 2010
Visit site
.. Can anyone else confirm that ATT offers 1 year plans? Do I have to pay extra (if so how much)? I've heard that 1 year plans are unobtainable through ATT.