Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By hotleadsingerguy
  • 1 Post By Sabri
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    171 Global Posts
    Carrier
    Stock

Default SD card unmounts and/or disappears with USB cable

I'm a newb, so I can't tell if this is an Android- or Atrix-specific problem. I did some searches, and I find threads somewhat applicable, but none of them solve what I am finding.

I want to transfer a bunch of files to the SD card in my Atrix. Regardless of how I set up the USB connection, either the SD card gets unmounted, or it simply disappears inside Windows Explorer.

The official ATT/Motorola owners manual states that there should be a selection for "memory card connection" when I access the USB control panel on the Atrix. But there is no such selection. If I choose "none", then the SD card disappears in Windows Explorer. The most I get is "Removable Disk E", and "Removable Disk F" in Windows Explorer. But they're just a blank.

If I choose "mass storage", then the SD card gets unmounted by Atrix.

I realize, from the other threads I've searched, that "mass storage" is the incorrect setting. But I just wanted to point out that I had tried that option.

So, at this point, I have no way to access the SD card for USB file transfer.

Thanks for the advice.

If you are just trying to copy files to your microSD card, then you want "mass storage" and the card will be dismounted. It should show on your PC as a Removable Disk. It is basicly the same as physically removing the card and putting into a card reader.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Global Posts
    171 Global Posts
    Carrier
    Stock

With the "mass storage" setting, the SD card unmounts, and it never shows up at all in Windows Explorer. What is there is the internal storage of the phone.

So, I'm mystified as to how to access the SD card.