Quick Ringtone Help

Sajan Parikh

Jan 6, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to android coming from BlackBerry, so I'm still getting used to the new file system and Android in general.

In BlackBerry, when you connected the phone via USB...they had a folder called 'Ringtones' where you dropped your mp3 files and it would show it in ringtone menus and keep things out of the music player.

How can I achieve this on the Atrix?

I have not rooted my phone, and am not using a launcher.

Any help or tips is greatly appreciated.

Connecting the mass storage to my PC does bring up a file system...but I'm still trying to make sense of it and where to drop my ringtone mp3s.

Bl00dRunzC0ld

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
I'm not to sure of this myself as I'm new to Android, but I did download the Audiko app from marketplace and I can download ringtones straight to the phone. You then set them just like you do any other ringtone.

vlstyles

Feb 19, 2011
www.sdbell.com
In general the ringtones are OGG or MID files while the music is MP3, AAC, etc. By default the ringtones are located in the media>audio>ringtones folder on either SD card, although the internal card is actually a few folders in which you can see if you are rooted and the file browser that you use has SU permissions. You can also use the Music app and long press a file to set it as a ringtone. I personally have Handcent SMS and it comes with a Music selector which let's you browse all music and sounds to set the notification (and ringtone) sounds.

tunie

Phhhhbbbbtttt
Apr 7, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to android coming from BlackBerry, so I'm still getting used to the new file system and Android in general.

In BlackBerry, when you connected the phone via USB...they had a folder called 'Ringtones' where you dropped your mp3 files and it would show it in ringtone menus and keep things out of the music player.

How can I achieve this on the Atrix?

I have not rooted my phone, and am not using a launcher.