Why does Motoblur suck and how to get rid of it?

philharmonik

Apr 11, 2011
Visit site
I have been seeing a lot of post,comments about how Motoblur is so crappy. What is motoblur and why is it so bad?? I just went from an LG Shine to my first smartphone, the Atrix of course. I really dont see what the big deal is. Is it because Im so new to this smartphone thing? Going from the Shine to the Atrix is like going from 8bit Nintendo to PS3 to me. I also keep hearing about "rooting" the Atrix. What improvements could there be from getting rid of motoblur?? Is it really that big of a deal? If there is a way to make this phone even better than it is already, im all ears! Im new to this whole thing so bare with my noobness. I work in the IT field so I think I could follow a well written guide on "rooting" the Atrix. Im just wondering if its really worth it, or should I just leave my phone as it is? I've already done the 2 updates that have been released, but I dont even get 4g where I live. Im sure eventually we will, but now all I get is Edge. The only time I get the H+ network is when I drive to work. I love my Atrix and plan on keeping it for a very long time. Any help or links would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!:)

stevehsteveh

Jun 1, 2010
Visit site
It completely kills the native performance of the phone. A Nexus S single core is quite a bit faster in day to day use (not benchmarks which are meaningless). It is bloated and not very useful. Terrible waste of really good hardware.

Major

Apr 19, 2011
Visit site
UI skins like Motoblur, Touchwiz, and Sense utilize system resources. They take up memory, CPU cycles, and drain battery. That said, alot of the stuff they offer is useful, so it's not a complete waste. The thing is, lots of people would rather have complete control over what is running on their devices, in order to milk the absolute most performance/battery out of their device or to supplant a particular functionality with an app of their preference.