Just Plain Android...

n2dp

Aug 28, 2010
Visit site
I am new to Android (goodbye Apple) and like the progression that it is making. I have searched and "Googled" until my head hurts. Can someone, without being a jerk, tell me if I can get rid of my carrier-specific Android and install a "just-plain-Android" that I can update as the OS progresses? And, will operate correctly. Every thread that I read just seems to go in circles, with too much info about too many different things. I see alot of "this ROM is great, except..." I would like to avoid the "excepts". I just want all of my buttons and orientaion to work correctly and I would like the phone's internal features, like FM Radio, to work without the carrier lock-outs". Please help an by responding with polite idiot-terminology.

Thanks,

Wade

Gunnyman

Apr 10, 2010
Visit site
Short answer, what you are looking for in Android Speak is called AOSP.
It doesn't exist on the Captivate yet. When froyo drops, expect The Cyanogen Mod dev team to release CM 6.1 This is a pure AOSP Froyo, or damned close to it.
I'm with you in disliking all the Sammy "tweaks" you can get rid of a lot of it by just installing a new launcher like Launcher Pro or ADW. As for the FM Radio, I haven't seen any proof that it actually exists in the Captivate Hardware.

flashman03

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
Short answer, what you are looking for in Android Speak is called AOSP.
It doesn't exist on the Captivate yet. When froyo drops, expect The Cyanogen Mod dev team to release CM 6.1 This is a pure AOSP Froyo, or damned close to it.
I'm with you in disliking all the Sammy "tweaks" you can get rid of a lot of it by just installing a new launcher like Launcher Pro or ADW. As for the FM Radio, I haven't seen any proof that it actually exists in the Captivate Hardware.

When that drops it will still need to be ported over to the Captivate since no one is working on CM6.1 except for the Vibrant.

Gunnyman

Apr 10, 2010
Visit site