Need help on how to root. im a noob

solost26

Jan 24, 2011
Visit site
ok so if some one can walk me through or help me on how to root my samsung captivate from my mac ive been trying to find ways but nothing is working anything will help. thanks for ur time

DroidXcon

Oct 21, 2010
Visit site
ok so if some one can walk me through or help me on how to root my samsung captivate from my mac ive been trying to find ways but nothing is working anything will help. thanks for ur time

Download z4root from here

Sideload it to your phone using http://forum.androidcentral.com/and.../24362-sideload-wonder-machine-linux-mac.html

after its on your phone, go to your app drawer find the z4root application
open it and hit permanent

it will reboot and you will have root

Smitty_82

Android Addict
Aug 8, 2010
Visit site
Ok, haven't worked with samsung or apple much, but the best I've been able to figure out, you will need to have a bootcamp partition and run Windows. Sorry, hopefully some others will be able to help more. Might check the Verizon Facinate forums as well. Might have some more info.

Edit: Thanks DroidXcon, wasn't sure Z4 worked for Samsung, lol.

MakaiOokami

Nov 27, 2010
Visit site
Getting kinda annoyed now.

This is the 2nd time I've tried to root my Captivate. First time I used the Odin 1 click. Followed the instructions, and it just sat there for hours with the black and yellow screen going "downloading" but with no progress bar of any way shape or form. After like 2 or 3 hours I just popped the battery and the phone is still working just fine but there's no way it should take that long.

Second time I did the 1 click root from the XDA developers, and I followed all the instructions 2 times. It rebooted, did the whole reinstall packages, had the "Debug mode" up. Waited for the phone to reboot itself after reinstalling packages, opened up Connectbot, tried typing

su