Can't access phone storage when charging via USB

kirk

Jul 19, 2010
Visit site
Just got the Captivate yesterday and really liking it except for one issue. I setup the USB options to prompt me for the type of connection when I plug into USB. If I choose Mass Storage I'm still not able to connect to the phone from my computer (Mac or Win 7). I assumed that choosing that option would mount the phone as an accessible drive. Just wondering what I'm missing. I don't have an external MicroSD card in the phone... is that required to do this? The options I have when I plug in via USB are...

Samsung Kies
Media player
Mass storage
PC Internet

I'm new to Android... moving over from Blackberry... and any advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

PS... Also looking for a good silicone case for this phone... any pointer to a good source for cases would also be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

JackImageX

Jul 15, 2010
Visit site
For the Mac, I had the same issue. I wrote up what the work-around is here:

http://forum.androidcentral.com/t-captivate/23462-captivate-os-x-doubletwist.html

(although it's written for doubleTwist, it should allow you to access the internal memory via USB).

That may help you with Windows 7 also. I don't have a mini USB cable here at work to test it. You may need to load a specific driver for the phone with Windows (Samsung does have a driver on their website for Windows XP and Vista). Also, it will depend if you are running 32-bit or 64-bit.

I think this may be a flaw on the phone with the way it handles USB. But, luckily, it's something that's easy to circumvent.

maerlim

Mar 12, 2010
Visit site
Click "Mass Storage", then you'll notice in your notification bar a message "USB Connected. Select to copy files to/from your computer." Click that, you'll get a screen that has 2 buttons, "Mount" and "Don't Mount". Click "Mount", and your drives will pop up on the computer.

kirk

Jul 19, 2010
Visit site