Blackberry user to first time android

kennyyboy

Aug 27, 2010
Visit site
I will be purchasing the Samsung Captivate tmrw from the AT&T store after work. Planning to pay $379 for the no commitment since I'm not eligible for an upgrade right now. This will be my very FIRST Android phone. I have no experience what so ever.

With that being said, I'm a big Blackberry user, and will be coming from the Blackberry Bold 9000. Is anyone here also an ex-blackberry user? How will the transition be? anything I'll be missing from the bb that wont be on the captivate? I love my blackberry, its a great phone, it does what I need with emails in a heart beat. It's just lacking a lot in multimedia and web browsing, and I'm sure I'm probably missing out on a lot of other cool stuff too especially since I'm paying $30 a month for data plan.

Emails & Calendars are very important for me. How will the push email be on the Captivate / Android? I handle 4 email accounts with a mix of Gmail and non gmail. As far as calendars go, I have really bad memory so all my dates and important daily task needs to be in my phone.

My brother has an iphone 4, it seems great and all, but not to offend anyone, the OS seems kinda "dumbed down" for kids. It seems to lack a lot of options and customization compared to all the options and choices I had on my blackberry. I've read a lot about how the android lets you customize a lot, so hopefully I'll be going in the right path.

If anyone has some input please let me know! I'm excited to join the Android family!

valueman

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
I also migrated to the Captivate after a Blackberry Curve, a Bold 9000 and a Bold 9700.