ATT Mobile Backup

Red Barchetta

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site
So I just recently got my Captivate, my first smartphone. I'm apparently paying $1.99/month for "Mobile Backup" and I even got a message from ATT saying I've paid for Mobile Backup but haven't yet synced my data, and that I should look in my "apps and games" folder and click on Mobile Backup.

Problem is, I don't have Mobile Backup in my apps, or anywhere for that matter that I can see.

Anyone else having this problem? I'm wondering if perhaps Mobile Backup is not compatible with the Captivate...

Thank you from a total newbie.

mty msi

Dec 2, 2010
Visit site
I would call AT&T to find out exactly what "mobile backup" covers for $1.99/mo. I haven't yet looked at my current AT&T bill but I've never had this charge on previous bills nor an option to have the service. AT&T has a no charge phone contacts backup unless this is now being charged for.

There are numerous free backup services (apps in the Marketplace & a corresponding download for your PC). This is not a service you should be paying for.

hummingbirdhill

Apr 6, 2011
Visit site
An interesting thread this is . . .

I used ATT Mobile Backup with my HTC Fuze but when I upgraded to my HTC Inspire last February 14, I was told by at least two phone reps that the Inspire is not supported by ATT Mob Backup. One rep told me he would cancel my subscription to the backup service.

My bills, for the past 6.5 months, have included the $1.99 backup service fee; in fact, one month I was DOUBLE-billed for it.

Until today, I've not been able to get the service off my bill OR get reimbursed for the months billed since February that I couldn't use it. I was told, prior to today, that the backup service isn't provided by ATT and ATT couldn't do anything to help me with a refund.