Can't change USB settings

muniyaz82

May 17, 2011
Visit site
This just started today....I cant change USB setting or place my cappy into debugging mode :mad: So this means I cant reflash any new roms since I can't go into debug mode to connect to my computer...Hell even worse is I have a iMac so that makes it even harder! Argh! It was rooted when I bought it and there are still some files on the SD card that look like the files used to root..like Untitled.zip, clockworkmod, and Galaxy_S_Unlock...so is there any way to fix this just by handset alone?? Please help..I am very new to droid and am frustrated as hell that I can't easily sync with my computer...I don't want to go back to my iphone 4 but I may have to :mad: :'(

pittsm

Jan 18, 2011
Visit site
not sure on the exact fix here, but you should have posted this in the captivate rooting section. you'd get more answers.

konazxiii

Sep 8, 2010
Visit site
Not sure how to "make" it clickable for you but I'm trying to think of a short way around.

this isn't so short but I'm still on my first cup-o-coffee lol.

You could apply an Clockworkmod update.zip that will allow you to get into recovery where you can install a custom (or stock) ROM and that will give you a fresh start.

First back up everything on your phone to your computer that's important to you as you will lose it. Then do a Master Clear/Factory Data Reset.

After backup and master clear is done you could download the file from the link I've included, along with the custom ROM of your choice, and you MUST rename it to say "update" (update.zip). Then reboot your phone into what I assume is stock recovery, select "install package" (you'll probably have to do that step twice in a row before it works). Once you get the green Clockwork Recovery screen select "install zip from sdcard" then select "choose zip from sdcard" and select the ROM you loaded with the update.zip.