Best Android Apps for the Galaxy Note

Professor777

Oct 27, 2011
Visit site
Android veterans, please add your valued opinions.

I am finally getting set free from the tyranny that is Apple. I am ditching my prehistoric iPhone and its CaveOS. The Galaxy note is light years ahead of all that is Apple.

I am not a newbie though, I have been researching android apps for months, and setting them up on my son's SGS2, and wife's Droid Razr as I waited for the GNote. Let's help each other. Here are some of my findings:

Live Wallpapers: Alien Shapes ( so configurable it is = to hundreds of live wallpapers); 3D fireflies Pro; Ice galaxy; Shadow galaxy; Vortex galaxy; Rays of light.

Productivity: Documents To Go Full. InfoWorld's Office Suite face-off says it is clearly superior to view, edit, and manage files. Sorry Samsung, but this program is much better than Quick Office Pro.
GMote for control of Powerpoint and other media.

Bible: Olive Tree programs are top notch and do not require internet connection. They have more apps on their web site than on the Market. They will even let you switch from Apple to Android without re-purchasing if you register with them first. I wish more programs would do this.
Holy Bible - the You Version is a great free app with dozens of translations and many languages.

Launchers: People should quit badmouthing the Samsung's new Touch wiz. It is a great default launcher. Other than that, we are using Go Launcher Ex. Great customizability and themes.

However this is a subjective matter, and you can have as many different ones as you want, but only 1 at a time. Launcher Pro is my third choice. I like Regina, but it doesn't use live wallpapers, so forget it. SPB looks great, but it is not customizable, and is a rip-off at $15.00.

Weather: Weather Bug Elite, and Accuweather that comes with -->
Beautiful Widgets - a great all-round widget.

Security: Currently using Lookout, the best version without paying for the subscription.