[How-To] Root the AT&T Galaxy S II

ObiGeorge

Mar 22, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, I installed Rom Manger (after being rooted) and flashed CWM, to test if what people were saying about it screwin up stuff was true. It even had an option for the the specific AT&T model of the SGII. DOES NOT work now. Can't boot into clockwork, and can't download ROMs through Rom Manager. Easy to get back to where I was, but yeah, don't use Rom Manager......yet

gaveup

Aug 8, 2011
Visit site
Hey guys,

I'm completely new to android and am coming from an iphone (which was jailbroken). The one thing I noticed so far about android is there really doesn't seem to be an introduction to rooting/using it correctly. I understand for each phone it is different, which I get, but is there anything like that here?

I rooted my phone using the first post here, and it seems people are having problems with it. So I asked why the other method posted was better, but not much of an answer was given. So I have a few questions that I hope someone can answer that will help me (and other new people) get a much better grasp on this whole process.

1. What does each specific program used do? Odin, superoneclick, helm..whichever. What primary function does each one use?

2. What is the process used? As in, is there a specific path that must be followed each time you flash a new rom or whichever.

3. What methods to backup your downloaded apps are there? Just in case you need to go back to stock (and really, how do you go about doing that).

4. How do you get rid of the yellow exclamation mark on bootup? I bought a USB jig, but not finding much information on how it is used.

I know to some these questions may seem a little elementary, but it seems these answers are the most difficult for me to find. I've read a lot on XDA, but realistically, those guys know way more about this and expect everyone else to know just as much.

Any answers would be awesome!

gaveup

Aug 8, 2011
Visit site
Just an update: