ATT Samsung Galaxy S2 bricked

LucasBrown87

Dec 12, 2011
Visit site
I've already tried the steps for unbricking that were listed in the other thread and my phone still isn't working. Here's what I've done so far:

I downloaded the Odin3v1.85 software, put my phone in download mode, and tried to install it. The upper left hand box said fail and now my phone won't do anything except say "firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies and try again." I then downloaded the unroot program and attempted to install it, it also says fail. Can anyone help me with getting my phone back to normal/a root that will actually work? I bought the phone yesterday (12/11). This phone is the S2 Skyrocket.

Last edited:

brendonlee

May 11, 2011
Visit site
I'm pretty new to installing roms but can't you just enter recovery mode and recover from there? I think it is hold volume-down & power to access recovery.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk

LucasBrown87

Dec 12, 2011
Visit site
Already tried that. I can't make it go to recovery mode, download mode or anything. I can only get the "firmware upgrade encountered an issue..." screen. If you have any other ideas please let me know! Thanks for the help.

LucasBrown87

Dec 12, 2011
Visit site
I've tried pretty much everything. I can still get to the page where it says "Warning!! A custom OS can cause... Volume Up: Continue, Volume Down: cancel (restart phone). But whether I press volume up or volume down it takes me to the same "firmware upgrade" page.

anneoneamouse

Jul 15, 2010
Visit site
Please excuse the seemingly simple questions. Be aware that this list is typed from memory, so if you have better information, or a more robust list of steps, or any questions about the steps, ask first :)

PC Connectivity:
1) Did you install the correct Samsung drivers for your operating system?
2) Had your PC ever correctly identified the phone to PC USB connection?