AT&T Galaxy SII Text Notification Problem

jademan38

Dec 8, 2010
Visit site
I upgraded my AT&T GS2 over the weekend when the official release hit for the phone. Ever since the update I have had issues getting text notifications (sound and vibration). I have tried the stock messaging, Handcent, and GoSMS. If I reset the sound for the texts, or receive a phone call which rings normal, then I may receive a few texts with sound/vibration but then it goes away. I have factory-ed the phone already, and spoken to a Samsung rep via an AT&T rep, and they are saying the update may have been corrupted during the install (?) and that I can send in for a re-flashing. I have some knowledge of rooting / custom romming, but of course am concerned with warranty in case something doesn't go 100%. Anyone have any other ideas / suggestions / experience with this problem? Can't be without my phone for very long due to work...

Thanks in advance

No44specialk

Jun 30, 2011
Visit site
I am curious about this too, I am experiencing the same problem. I get the vibrating notification when in "silent mode", but I do not receive a sound-volume is turned up.

No44specialk

Jun 30, 2011
Visit site
I found a solution to my problem, it may help you too.

Check out:
-Settings > Sound > Volume (at the top of the list) > and make sure that the volumes are turned on and at a high level.

Hope it helps!

Raien

Oct 22, 2010
Visit site
Think its time I just forsake my warranty and hack.

My sound notification for texting doesn't work, at all. No matter what file I use/how loud it is. No vibration, no sound. Just, nothing.

jademan38

Dec 8, 2010
Visit site
I contacted ATT and they are sending a new phone. Not sure what caused the problem, seems once I get a phone call, the phone will ring and I will get notifications for a little while (?).

Very odd...

Thanks again

rickms80

Sep 18, 2011
Visit site