MMS Pictures distorted

atoddvr6

Aug 29, 2012
Visit site
Hello,

First post. :) I am new to Android and I have a SGS3. My previous phone was an iphone 4 and so far I like what I see and what Android can do.

My question: I am using the stock MMS app and every time I send a photo to my wife, who has the iphone, the picture she gets is physically squashed. It doesn't matter what orientation the picture was taken in. Obviously, when I go to the gallery, the photo (ex: a horizontal photo) looks fine. As soon as I tap the message icon it shows a square thumbnail with the photo squashed. If I hit preview, it shows the photo even MORE squashed into a vertical photo! Why?

I haven't had any other trouble sending pictures in general. The camera is set to 8mp and I don't know of any MMS settings for this problem. I understand that the pics need to be compressed, so why would they also be "compressed"???? Am I wrong for thinking that I shouldn't have to install an app just to send pictures correctly? If that is what I have to do then I will. I'm just saying it's ridiculous that this is happening. I have searched and searched and have found some posts but none of them have any answers.

My final rant: I shouldn't have to install a third party MMS app because one of the most powerful and sophisticated phones on the planet should be able to send a flippin photo without distorting it.:mad:

Any help would be greatly appreciated. My apologies for acting this way. I am just so frustrated. I really hope that there is a way around this.

Chalvy

Aug 16, 2012
Visit site
I have never seemed to run into this problem myself. Pictures I send via mms always look good on my phone and my brothers iphone.

Chalvy

Aug 16, 2012
Visit site
Yes I would probably swap out the device to check whether it is your inability to send a photo properly (haha) or the phone's problem...Most likely the latter in my opinion. ;-)

atoddvr6

Aug 29, 2012
Visit site