Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Samsung s3 - 'your device does not support upgrading via kies'

I have an unlocked Samsung S3 from AT&T.I download Kies from Samsung website . Kies automatically detected a new Firmware and I updated it . Every thing went on Ok. Few days latter I got an OTA update from AT&T. I installed it. The Andriod Version I am currently running is 4.0.4 and Baseband version is I747UCLH9.
    Now when I connect S3 to Kies , I get this message on the Kies home page screen . I removed and installed Kies several times , but get the same message

My questions are
    1) Will this impact any future updates on my Phones. Will I be able to install Jelly Bean when it is avaliable.
    2) How do I rectify this problem.

I am new to Andriod. So please advise me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Android Central Forums

Global Posts
    981 Global Posts

Default Re: Samsung s3 - 'your device does not support upgrading via kies'

Kies checks the status of the boot loader and firmware when the device is attached. If it detects something amiss, it will give this error.

It means that Kies does not see the phone as stock.

It will have issues with future updates, but there are ways to update without Kies. Whether it messes with OTA updates or not should be the question, as most carriers are going that route now.

Note2 or Note10, that is the question
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Thanks for the info

I have an AT&T Galaxy S3, no mods, all original. I too am receiving this message since the OTA update. It worked perfect previous to this. Why would Kies think that I have done something to make it not stock?

Ditto, I haven't modded my gs3 either

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747

Global Posts
    23 Global Posts

Me too. Total stock and receive same error since last update.