Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default KitKat did not install

KitKat downloaded and then tried to install but aborted on reboot. I have CWM recovery installed...did that cause a problem? What can I do to get AT&T KitKat installed? Any help is appreciated.

Default Re: KitKat did not install

I have CWM installed on my phone and did not have any problems.
    I am no expert but are you sure your phone is not rooted? When 4.3 was rolled out honestly I had completed forgotten my phone was rooted and it failed until I un rooted my phone. After that I had no problems.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

It is not rooted.

Unhappy Re: KitKat did not install

I, too, am having trouble getting KitKat installed. It downloads just fine but then fails at 28%. I checked why (press the menu button to check progress of install) and I got the following error "/system/app/SmartWiFi_vpl_ATT.apk has unexpected contents. E:Error in /cache/fota/2400xx.cfg (status 7)" (the xx I can't read). See the attached picture. I've unrooted my phone and done several factory wipes hoping that would solve the issue, but sadly it has not. It fails at 28% install. Any ideas?

Edit: Apparently, I still have root. I thought I got rid of it. Can someone instruct me on how to unroot. I uninstalled SuperSU from inside the app and then did the full cleanup. Then to check root I downloaded Titanium Backup and it said it couldn't get root access. However, when I just downloaded RootChecker it said I had root. I'm so confused.

KitKat did not install-4.4.2-update-fail.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by wadams2112 View Post
    KitKat downloaded and then tried to install but aborted on reboot. I have CWM recovery installed...did that cause a problem? What can I do to get AT&T KitKat installed? Any help is appreciated.