Can't access Google Play (market)

Slowdave1

Jan 22, 2013
Visit site
Son got a new Android phone. Gave his old Inspire 4G to my daughter so she could upgrade from an old un-smart phone. Daughter planned to use it for everything as designed except she has no data plan on her phone #, so only internet/data access would be via WiFi. It is working fine for her as a phone, internet (via wifi), camera, MP3 player, etc. But, can't access Google Play/Android Market to download any new apps. (Not positive at this late hour which one that phone accesses.) It says something like "unable to access data plan" or something like that. This is an unrooted phone, and as far as AT&T goes, we only planned to use this as a phone/texting machine other than accessing internet via WiFi, which I assume they wouldn't care about. Is the Market somehow linked in to check that we have a data plan for the phone before it will give access?

Thoughts? Remedies? Work arounds? And yes, I am an extreme noob myself, so please speak simpleton. :confused:

Thanks!

Slowdave1

Jan 22, 2013
Visit site
Thank you for your suggestion! However, we tried it and it asks us to log into her gmail account when we re-start and enter the "Market." After a few minutes of "communicating with Google," it comes back and says, "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server. This could be a temporary problem or your phone may not be provisioned for data services. If it continues, call Customer Care."

I should have mentioned also that my son did a factory reset before handing it over to my daughter. Any other recommendations gladly accepted!

Oh, config info:
Android version 2.3.3
HTC Sense version 2.1
Software number 2.47.502.7

Also, this phone has the "market" not the newer "Play Store" on it. I'm open to changing that if needed/possible, just saying what's on there now.

Hopefully that covers any information that would help in troubleshooting. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Slowdave1

Jan 22, 2013