New to Android

PersonaNonGrata

Mar 15, 2012
Visit site
Hello, everybody. After lurking here for about 3 or 4 weeks, I finally made an account today. I'm new to Android, so I have a couple questions I haven't seen answered elsewhere.

I recently acquired my 1st ever Android device, which is also my 1st ever unlocked mobile phone. Now, I've had several never-locked (or, "factory unlocked") phones before, but my LG P505 Phoenix is the 1st phone I've ever had that was branded (AT&T), and later unlocked. In my case, I purchased this phone used, over the internet. It was advertised as being unlocked, and I have confirmed that it works with a non-AT&T SIM.

1. Is that all the proof I need that the phone is truly unlocked, and has been unlocked properly? If a phone is "unlocked," can that mean more than 1 thing?
  2. Is it possible to lose my unlock if I flash the ROM?

Thank you, guys, for any input.

PersonaNonGrata

Mar 15, 2012
Visit site

Edit: I read about the baseband thing with the LG upgrade utility, and wanted to avoid it for now, though I don't really know the significance, yet.

PersonaNonGrata

Mar 15, 2012
Visit site
Ok, good!

I noticed you guys are saying "you shouldn't lose it" and "I don't think so." Are you just being cautious, so you don't get blamed for my misdeeds?

michikade#AC

Aug 30, 2011
Visit site
I said it because that's not something I personally have experience with, as I use a CDMA provider so SIM unlock isn't part of my phone tweaking.

But it's been confirmed on XDA that you won't lose unlock - i say shouldn't because you never know, there may be some weird fluke somewhere.

Sent from my 3VO using Tapatalk

Reactions: PersonaNonGrata

PersonaNonGrata

Mar 15, 2012
Visit site
So what are the down sides to upgrading to 2.3.4? I know the baseband gets upgraded, which makes other ROM flashes trickier (at least as I understand it). Anything else? Is it worth it to upgrade?

LifesGoodPhoenix

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site