Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default G2X Review (Network issues - Wait for Android 2.3)

Before anyone makes a pointless comment, let me introduce myself and advise you a bit of my background. I have 11 years experience as a systems engineer and know technology well. Regardless of its Linux, Unix, AIX, HP-UX, or Windows...

That being said and now out of the way.

Purchased a brand new G2X yesterday. Used old SIM in new G2X, had the CSR update the PRL, IMEI, and other pertinent information before leaving the store. Made sure the phone could acquire a 4G and 2G signal. Performed a sync of my Google data (which took longer than normal, shouldve been a warning sign) and off I went on my merry way....

First things to note about the G2X and its current configuration:

Android 2.2 doesn't take advantage of the dual core processors hardware. In laymen terms, think how Windows XP cannot take full advantage of a SSD because it doesn't have TRIM support, or how Windows Server 2003 Standard is limited to run on up to 4 CPUs regardless if installed on an 8 socket physical box. The hardware (regardless of how good) is OS bound. Android 2.3 will resolve this, but for now the OS really isn't performing as well as it could and should. I understand this, hence why I am not bashing this phone or calling it a POS. It is technically in its RC phase currently from a software perspective and was most likely released earlier than LG wanted due to a push from T-Mobile. When 2.3 is released I will consider this phone truly production ready. Moving on.