Help switching from T-Mobile to Straight Talk

Ted Nugent

Dec 23, 2012
Visit site
I have a T-Mobile Galaxy S II and have switched to Straight Talk. My issue is receiving data. Since I have switched the only way to receive data is via Wi-Fi. What do i need to do to receive data? Any advise would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

Ted Nugent

Dec 23, 2012
Visit site
straight has told me that a galaxy s2 from t-mobile can not be used with straight talk. has anyone tried with success? we tried switching the APN as instructed with no luck phone works great with talking and texting just can not get data.:(

Minnetonka4me

Dec 22, 2011
Visit site
Some carriers use a user name and PW to authenticate. I would do a web search...there should be someone out there that has done the same thing.

You might have to jailbreak it too...but I am no pro.

The one last thing people dont know about is different carriers use different bands for different types of data. You would think though since its part of T-mo it would use the same bands.

My dad ended up with a jailbroken HTC from ATT and it didnt have the ability to use the 2100 T-mo band. It can however connect to edge.

Forgewizard

May 20, 2012
Visit site
Straight talk is cdma (sprint) not T-Mobile. Different radio bands. I wouldnt think it will ever work.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Android Central Forums

codeda

Jan 28, 2012
Visit site
Straight talk is cdma (sprint) not T-Mobile. Different radio bands. I wouldnt think it will ever work.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Android Central Forums

Straight talk is not just CDMA...... You can also buy Sim cards for tmobile and att through them.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Android Central Forums

PastorMatt85

Feb 5, 2013
Visit site
straight has told me that a galaxy s2 from t-mobile can not be used with straight talk. has anyone tried with success? we tried switching the APN as instructed with no luck phone works great with talking and texting just can not get data.:(