Nexus S Questions Before I Take The Plunge?

jaystang

Jan 6, 2011
Visit site
Hey Guys,
Long time lurker here. Have a few questions about both the Nexus S and T-Mobile before I move forward with this.

I'll start off by saying, I'm a big anti-apple guy, however I'm also a software engineer so I just HAD to have an iPhone since at the time there was really no other phones that could compete. My contract has ended with AT&T back in July (yes long time to not upgrade), and I've just been sitting back and waiting for the next big thing to come along. I truly wanted a verizon phone. After having so many different issues with AT&T I was convinced I would never buy another phone that wasn't on verizon. I waited and waited, stalked these forums like crazy, followed the Thunderbolt from the minute it was leaked back in Aug. I thought this would be my next phone. Well of course CES was a big let down. Cool phone, not so new technology, terrible battery life, and not coming out until March? No thanks! So now I'm looking closely at the Nexus S. I went to best buy tonight and played around for a while. I guess none of my questions pertain specifically to the phone. It is a great piece of hardware, I am convinced of this. My questions are more around T-Mobile. My only experience with T-Mobile was back in high school (errr, long time ago) and I don't really remember how it was, as well as I'm sure they've done a tone of upgrading with their network. Anyway, honestly how is T-Mobile? How is it with dropped calls? How is it compared to other carriers? I live in Boston so being in a city I'm sure that helps. But then again I get dropped calls with AT&T and my crappy iPhone all the time so maybe I shouldn't make that assumption. Do the T-Mobile plans still come with the my-favs (pick your fav 5 numbers to call free)? I don't see it listed on their website. Can you upgrade with T-Mobile earlier then every 2 years while under contract? Do the offer any type of 1 year contract where the