Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By gxgs
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Preforming a Full Factory Reset on GS4 - Damage

Hello Folks,

I am a Noob to these forums, but I am maybe a middle of the road S4-wise. I am just looking for a couple answers to some questions I have. I have looked around for the answers to "my" questions, and have not been able to find the right answers. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated, Thanks...

1 - Would preforming a full factory reset on my S4 hurt the phone in any way? My phone does not need to be reset at all. I just know more about how the phone works now, and would like to start over from scratch.

2 - What will backing up my phone help do before I reset it?

3 - What would I back up, and where would I back it up too?

4 - Would I need to re download the Android 4.3 Update once I preformed the reset?

Thanks again for any help you can offer...

Mr. Fister ~ F

Default Re: Preforming a Full Factory Reset on GS4 - Damage

I'm going to assume that you have NOT rooted your phone. So:
    1) Nope, no hurt or harm to your phone. A factory reset wipes every bit of apps, data, music, saved files, pictures, etc off the phone, uninstalls any updates, etc. Factory reset is just that - it resets the phone (software wise) to how it left the factory. Remember opening the box and turning it on for the very first time? That's what you'll get after a factory reset.
    2) Backing up your phone will save your phone in its current state as far as apps and settings. I believe that any data (pictures, music, saved files, etc) will be erased though. I'm not totally familiar with the S4 so someone will have to clarify.