Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Carrier
    CyanogenMod 9

Default Rooting the Samsung Exhibit II 4G?

I'm new to the whole Android world (came from iOS), and I need to know how to root my new phone. I already got the Android SDK, but I really don't know what else to do.

UPDATE: Well that was easy! I used SuperOneClick, worked like a charm! Sweet sauce. Now uh, what custom ROMs can I install?

Default Re: Rooting the Samsung Exhibit II 4G?

Probably not the right forum section to post this. But unless there are any rules about posting link to another forum: Anyone root the Samsung Exhibit II 4g T679 - Android Forums

You first have to install your phone USB drivers, then turn on USB Debugging before you plug the phone to your computer, setting is located at: Settings -> Application -> Development.

It doesn't seem there are much development interests in this phone.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Carrier
    CyanogenMod 9

I did those already, and I've successfully rooted the phone.

I'm a noob, been trying to read all the info and research as much as I can about rooting so that I can get rid of the bloatware on my T-Mobile Samsung Exhibit II 4G phone.

I understand I must download and install the USB drivers as the very first step in the process. Well, I cannot find the drivers anywhere. They are not on the Samsung Support page. And when I do a Google search for Samsung USB drivers nothing viable turn up.

Where did you locate the USB drivers to download before you rooted your phone?

Thanks!
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

Carrier
    CyanogenMod 9

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpa Tom View Post
    I'm a noob, been trying to read all the info and research as much as I can about rooting so that I can get rid of the bloatware on my T-Mobile Samsung Exhibit II 4G phone.