AT&T User Considering T-Mobile - Coverage Questions

kgbkny

Jun 26, 2013
Visit site
I'm considering the possibility of switching from AT&T to T-Mobile, but I have concerns about T-Mo's coverage. I'm a NYC resident and a former T-Mobile subscriber; I left T-Mobile for AT&T in 2012, due to ongoing data issues in my neighborhood. I understand that T-Mobile has drastically improved their urban coverage, but how is it outside of the city limits? I travel a few times a year, sometimes to comparatively remote areas, so reliable coverage is more important than speed (I'd rather have 10 Mbps downstream with a wide coverage footprint than 100 Mbps downstream in a few select areas).

So, in all honesty...how is T-Mobile's coverage outside of cities? Switching would save me approximately $500 a year, but am I really going to sacrifice the quality of service I'm currently getting to get these savings?

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
If you can, I would get an account set up, and take it where you commonly go for the next few days. If it isn't satisfactory, you should be able to cancel with little to no financial obligations.

YouBlue_dev

Apr 19, 2017
Visit site
I never have coverage issues with TMO, but like Golfdriver97 said, you should get a phone and try it out for a couple weeks before cancelling your AT&T plan. I'm not sure how that would affect the ETF coverage, but you can discuss that with a rep.

anon(9898026)

Apr 25, 2016
Visit site
best is to try out a cheap prepaid to see how it is. I've had tmobile for a week and I love it. have no regrets and the coverage has been fine in nc,sc, ga and FL during my drive the other day. I've been to some semi rural spots and the coverage was fine. they really have improved a lot over the past few years

anon(9898026)

Apr 25, 2016
Visit site