Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Penelope_Weaver
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Best Turn-By-Turn Navigation

I'm new to Smartphones and hence Android. I bought the Note 3 with a 14-day trial and time is running out. I am very happy with just about everything about it—except the fact that I can't seem to find a turn-by-turn navigation program that vocalizes street names. (Apparently googlemaps and waze used to do this but don't anymore.) I'd also like to be able to download the maps, and have access to traffic and 3-d views. I live in the LA area. I don't mind paying for the program if it's reliable and accurate.
    Thanks

Default Re: Best Turn-By-Turn Navigation

Google Maps does vocalize street names...
    Thanked by:
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

I thought that I might have set up googlemaps incorrectly. But when I searched this issue on google, I discovered that there are a lot of people complaining that googlemaps had taken away the street name vocalization feature...
    Maybe I'm crazy, but I would sure like to know how to make it (or another program) work on my Note3!

I use it at least once a week. Just open maps do a search for where you want to go and click the car icon at the bottom right of your screen. Then on the next screen click start navigation. Then you will get turn by turn directions.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
    Thanked by:
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

Thanks for the specific directions. (As I said, I am new to smartphones, etc!)
    I'll try what you suggest this afternoon and let you know what happens...
    kentuc794 likes this.

Waze vocalizes street names also. Make sure in the "sound" settings you have a voice checked that states "including streetnames". Should be one of the first two voices.
  7. Thread Author  Thread Author    #7  

Thanks for the help. I have English (US) - Samantha including street names checked.
    I don't know what's going on.