Seeking advice: GS4 or HTC One, and 16 or 32 GB?

kirkhere

May 7, 2013
Visit site
I'm an Android phone newbie, upgrading from an iPhone 3gs that I've had for 3 years. I will probably be keeping my new phone for a long time also. It will be used for a mix of business and personal stuff (outlook integration and exchange server support are very important). It will not be used for extensive gaming, photos, multimedia or social networking. I'm generally a function > form kind of person. After reading many reviews and forums and playing with both phones in the store, I think both are nice, but the GS4 is probably a better fit for me. Just in case I'm overlooking something, I'd appreciate any thoughts from others who have more Android experience than I do. Here are my main decision criteria.

Things that are not important to me:
- Aluminum vs plastic construction. Both have their advantages. My phone will be in a case.
- HTC Zoe and Blinkfeed
- Most of the Samsung "S-features" and extra sensors

Advantages of One:
- Side by side with GS4, the One screen looked better: brighter, sharper, whiter whites, more detail in images.
- 32 GB storage in base model
- Front facing speakers
- Cleaner, more modern-looking UI
- Less "gimmicky" features
- Unlockable bootloader, for future tweaking

Advantages of GS4:
- Physical home button that can wake the phone, instead of having to reach for a small power button.
- Menu button, instead of the ugly menu button bar that appears with some apps on the One. (Yes I know that can be "fixed" with custom ROMs, but I wouldn't want to use a custom ROM right away.)
- Larger screen. Web pages with small text were a little easier to read.
- More versatile notification area
- Overall the UI seemed more intuitive and configurable, even if less "pretty"
- Serviceability. Since this is a long term phone for me, the ability to replace the battery or do other repairs is appealing.