AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 - Texting Questions

tmozer

May 29, 2011
Visit site
I am new to texting. Never liked using the little keyboards on past phones or the screen keyboard on my S4. However since it seems to be the best way to contact my kids, I figured I'd better get with it.

I believe the app I am using for texting is the AT&T one. Do I need mobile data turned on to send a text, or will it send with a WiFi connection working?
Is it possible to send a text message using Google Voice? If so, how would I initiate a message or a response to a message?

tmozer

May 29, 2011
Visit site
As usual, I ask first and experiment (or search) next......
Yes, I can text with a WiFi only connection. Yes I can use "OK Google" to send a text to someone, but, unless I am doing it wrong or improperly, it does not work that great for me.

thehoz

Apr 27, 2013
Visit site
Not sure if this can help, but since you're new to touch screen keyboards, you may want to try the swipe method of typing. Its the only way I type now. The Samsung keyboard does it as well as SwiftKey, swype and the Google keyboard. You can also try hitting the microphone button on your keyboard to use speech to text.

Posted via Android Central App

tmozer

May 29, 2011
Visit site
Not sure if this can help, but since you're new to touch screen keyboards, you may want to try the swipe method of typing. Its the only way I type now. The Samsung keyboard does it as well as SwiftKey, swype and the Google keyboard. You can also try hitting the microphone button on your keyboard to use speech to text.

OK, being a dummy I have to ask what are the logistics of the "swipe method of typing"?

Also I was trying to put "BGF" (best girl friend) in a message. But no matter what I tried, it was changed to "big". Anyway to force it to keep what I type?

Last edited:

thehoz

Apr 27, 2013
Visit site