Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Help Downgrading / Rooting my AT&T Galaxy S4 (using 4.4.2)

Hi everyone. Excuse my lack of technical jargon because I'm really new to the android stuff in general. I'd like to root my galaxy s4 - it's an AT&T I337 running kitkat 4.4.2 or whatever. As far as I know, there's no existing root method as of yet, so my way around would be to downgrade to 4.2.2 and try to root from there. However, so far I haven't even found a method to do that. Is it possible/how do you downgrade your android version? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Global Posts
    8,954 Global Posts
    ROM
    Slim Kat 4.4.4

Default Re: Help Downgrading / Rooting my AT&T Galaxy S4 (using 4.4.2)

Quote Originally Posted by quitedumb View Post
    Hi everyone. Excuse my lack of technical jargon because I'm really new to the android stuff in general. I'd like to root my galaxy s4 - it's an AT&T I337 running kitkat 4.4.2 or whatever. As far as I know, there's no existing root method as of yet, so my way around would be to downgrade to 4.2.2 and try to root from there. However, so far I haven't even found a method to do that. Is it possible/how do you downgrade your android version? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    Welcome to Android Central
    You can't downgrade your firmware if you're on anything after 4.3
    Knox locks the bootloader against firmware downgrades

Sent from my Galaxy S4 running SlimKat 4.4.2
    "We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology." - Carl Sagan
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Quote Originally Posted by UJ95x View Post
    Welcome to Android Central
    You can't downgrade your firmware if you're on anything after 4.3
    Knox locks the bootloader against firmware downgrades