Band 30 weak signal / Band 2 OK / how to prevent Band 30?

thoots

Jul 22, 2012
Visit site
I've been getting a few reports from folks that I have been "breaking up" during calls while I'm in my house. I'm very new at the technical stuff, but via apps like SignalCheck Pro and OpenSignal, I've found that Band 2 -- LTE 1900 -- has been giving me much better signal than Band 30 - LTE 3200. My phone will move between these two bands rather frequently, though most of the time it's on Band 30. My signal on Band 30 can be -117 most of the time, which just really isn't acceptable. My signal on Band 2 is usually quite good -- around -100.

So, is there any way I can prevent my phone from using Band 30? It's a new Samsung Galaxy 7 Edge, though it replaced a Samsung Galaxy S6, which worked just the same as the new phone. I'm thinking that Band 30 is relatively new to my area, and "it sure isn't working well for me!" I've never really had any reports from my callers that I've been breaking up, until recently -- thus my thoughts that Band 30 must be quite new in my area, as I understand it tends to be at this point across the country.

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to send my way!

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
I've found that Band 2 -- LTE 1900 -- has been giving me much better signal than Band 30 - LTE 3200.
Not surprising, since 3200MHz has less range than 1900MHz.

So, is there any way I can prevent my phone from using Band 30?
Not really, without redesigning the phone.

"it sure isn't working well for me!"
"Working well" means "having more bandwidth - IOW, more signals can fit in a band - which is all the carrier cares about.

thoots

Jul 22, 2012
Visit site
Folks,