Having trouble flashing ROM

straightsixm3

Jun 19, 2011
Visit site
Hey all, I'm new to rooting Androids so please bear with me.

I used the Auto-root found in the stick in this forum to Root my TB. Then I backed up my phone with ROM Manager. I then mounted my SD card and put on the MR2 Radio (renamed correctly) and Das BAMF GingerREMIX v2.1 (both ZIPs). I turned the phone off and back on and went into Hboot and it flashed the MR2 Radio. I rebooted the phone and I had no service, but that's because I was on a Froyo ROM with the MR2 radio instead of MR1, correct? So I mounted the SD again and deleted that MR2 Radio so that it wouldn't load when I went into Hboot again. I go into Hboot again and choose recovery and wipe the data, cache partition, and Dalvik cache. I then went to install ZIP from SD card and then choose ZIP from SD card. When I went down and chose the ROM and confirmed, it said Finding update package... Opening update package... E:Can't open /sdcard/BAMF-GingerREMIX-v2.1.zip (bad) Installation aborted.

I tried to be as complete in my description as possible lol. Could it be that it can't open the ROM because I put it in the root of my SD card? Was I supposed to put it somewhere else? Maybe I just should un-root my phone since I can't even figure out how to flash a ROM :'(

fatboy97

Aug 10, 2010
Visit site
Did you double check the MD5Sum code of the download ROM file before you started this process??? You might have downloaded a corrupt zip file. You always need to check the MD5Sum code against the ROM you download before trying to flash it.

****EDIT: Check out a program called WinMD5Sum... it will allow you to check the MD5Sum code of the file.

Reactions: straightsixm3

wildman

Jul 9, 2010
Visit site
You do not flash custom roms through Hboot, this is installed through ROM Manger the reason it reported the error is because the rom is not signed and isn't designed to be installed in Hboot.