android market app, anyway to not update?

crescent

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
Is there anyway to use the "old version" (sorry i don't know the actual release number) of market and have it not update to the new one with books and movies and all that junk? i just want apps! this new one drives me crazy!

Cyber Warrior

Robots Will Kill
Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
Flashing a custom ROM would do it. The devs are still using the old market in their ROMs.. at least for now.

acbanner.jpg

| General Help and How To | Tips & Tricks | Forum Guidelines |

crescent

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
running cm7 1.5.2 the market app that came with it is the one i like it auto updated though. how do i bock this action?

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
I'm still new to this whole root thing, but so far this is working for me:
1. I downloaded the 2.2.6 .apk version of the Market (I couldn't remember what the last version was that still had the old Market before 3.0.26 hit, so I settled on 2.2.6) - just Google it
2. I used Titanium Backup to Freeze the Market Updater (it's still at v1.0)
3. Used TB to insert the 2.2.6 .apk over the top of the existing 3.0.27
It's only been a couple of days, but normally the Market would update after the first time I used it - so far, so good. Now I'm looking for the final version just prior to 3.0.26 so that I can use that.
Good luck

DaRkL3AD3R

Jul 17, 2010
Visit site
I agree with you all here, new market sucks :mad:

I am on a mission now, will find the latest Google Market prior to the major update and will upload it somewhere. If I knew how to make a flashable CWR zip I'd do that, but I hate those things anyway xP

Update: http://www.mediafire.com/?npbqbudhgnkcbl4 here it is. Market version 2.3.6, last known update prior to the 3.0.xx update. Simply download the file to your phone and install it like any other APK. I recommend completely uninstalling your current version of the Market and wiping cache before installing this one.