Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Outdated...

I have a simple question that is hard to get a specific answer since it seems 98% of the world has moved on from the S3.

However, if I wanted to manually root my US Cellular S3 running 4.4.2 (by manually i mean not using a toolkit, cuz obv they're all outdated for my current OS), does the fact I'm running 4.4.2 matter? More specifically, is rooting process the same on an S3 running Gingerbread as my current KitKat?

Thanks.

Default Re: Outdated...

To answer your second question first, you generally can't use a tool that was written to root Gingerbread on a device running KitKat. I'm no expert, but the rooting methods change as the OS changes so what worked even on Jelly Bean may not work on KitKat.

Take a look at http://towelroot.com (it seems to be current and well liked) on your phone:
    - select the lambda symbol
    - download the apk
    - install the apk
    - follow the instructions

Oh, and please don't double post - it just leads to unnecessary confusion (and violates the forum guidelines to boot).

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

My bad on the double post action. May I ask, have you used this method? What will downloading the .apk on my phone do? Should I backup before doing any of this? Thanks for the reply....

My phone is already rooted, but I followed all of the steps up to pressing the button to perform the actual root.

Downloading the .apk doesn't do anything in-and-of itself; it's just like downloading any other file.
    Installing it is just like installing any other app - it doesn't do anything there either.
    Only by running the app and starting the root process do you actually accomplish anything.