About to pull the trigger on Charge

electron

Jun 26, 2011
Visit site
Hello all, I'm electron :)
I've decided to buy a smartphone on Verizon before the new tired plans come into effect, and I've got a new questions on the Charge.

I can be a pretty clumsy person at times. Is the phone durable enough, or would I greatly benefit from a case?

Although I know almost nothing about android at the moment, I'm a very tech-savvy person. I've seen that rooting and changing the file system to ext4 greatly increases quadrant scores, but does it speed the phone up that much for, say, web browsing? If it does, is it worth the hassle?

If I do root my phone, and need to return it for some reason, how could I restore the phone to make it look un-rooted?

And finally, would you (assuming you have/do own one) recommend this phone in general? I know its gotten favorable reviews, but so has the thunderbolt, and many people seem unhappy with the TB.

The eariliest I could make it to a verizon store would be on next Saturday, so there isn't a huge rush.
Thanks!

jkeene81

Feb 1, 2010
plus.google.com
1.If you are a pretty clumsy person a case is always a good idea, Verizon has a gel case that fits very well that I am using, its not very bulky and provides good coverage in case of drops,
2. yes rooting to change the file system changes the whole nature of the phone,web browsing is much faster, there is no lag when switching tasks, makes a great phone even better.
3. Yes you can just reflash the stock files and make it look all touchwizzy again.
4. I would totally recommend this phone, even though it isnt dual core it is plenty fast for daily use and the aftermarket community has really shown some good support for it.

Reactions: electron

Ken7

May 25, 2011
Visit site