Mac Program for Syncing Needs?

Ason12

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
Hi,

I'm completely new to Android so, I've done a bit of searching and I apologize if I've missed it, but I'm looking for the best Mac program to sync contacts, etc. I don't use GMail's contacts, and I have everything that I'd like to transfer in my Address Book. I would be open to using a different program for contacts, or even if you guys suggest using GMail for my contacts.

Any suggestions?

Last edited:

kilofoxtrot

Feb 15, 2010
Visit site
I would still use Gmail, even if you dont plan on using the Gmail account. After you create your gmail account, open OSX's Address Book and take a look at preferences for syncing with Gmail contacts.

Once set up you will have 2-way syncing with your phone's address book and Address Book using Gmail Contacts as a middle man for cloud syncing.

PS you can do the same thing with iCal and gCal too!

tourstagefan

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site
Hi,

I'm completely new to Android so, I've done a bit of searching and I apologize if I've missed it, but I'm looking for the best Mac program to sync contacts, etc. I don't use GMail's contacts, and I have everything that I'd like to transfer in my Address Book. I would be open to using a different program for contacts, or even if you guys suggest using GMail for my contacts.

Any suggestions?

I too, have a MAC and found a fairly simple way to transfer the contacts from the MAC address book.

1.) Open the Address Book application
2.) Go to "File" then "Export" then "Address Book Archive"
3.) Save it to your Desktop
4.) Log-in to your Gmail account (or set one up if you do not have one)
5.) Click on "Contacts" on the left-hand side of the screen
6.) Click on "Import" in the top right-hand corner of the screen
7.) Click on "Choose File" then attach the Address Book Archive that you saved to your Desktop.