Noob confuse - Gmail as Push email Server

buckifvr

Dec 3, 2009
Visit site
I apologize for posting this, but I'm new to Android (coming from BB) and I am confused, I've had my Incredible for an hour. Using the information from AC I set up my gmail account to push email from my pop account to my Incredible. Question is where does it show up on my phone? Under gmail icon, mail icon, message icon? I don't see where it is showing up anywhere. Any input would be helpful. Thank you

TBolt

Oct 19, 2009
Visit site
No need to use POP if it's a Gmail account. Disable POP and enable IMAP.
(log in to your web-based email box, click on the Settings link at the top of the web page > Forwarding and POP/IMAP)

There ought to be a Gmail icon on your home screen, unless you've removed it for some reason. Tap the Gmail icon to open your inbox. Gmail pushes to your phone very quickly -- great stuff!

indianajonze

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
neither response is accurate. you DO need to use pop if you're adding your pop account to your gmail account. once you add a pop account (you can add up to 5), it IS pushed to your phone through your gmail account. and you cannot specify a fetch interval for these imported pop addresses, they are determined by google. last night it was fetching pop emails like every 2 minutes. today it's outrageously slow, every 50 minutes or so.

the pushed pop emails appear in your gmail inbox, and you can label them anything you like to separate them (most usually just use the email address as the label)

you can specify that any replys to your pushed pop mail gets sent from either your gmail account or your pop smtp server.

you can also specify a signature to use for your pushed pop emails. overall the service is pretty slick, the only downfall as of now is that you're at the mercy of google for when they decide to fetch your email from the servers and push it to your gmail box.

buckifvr

Dec 3, 2009
Visit site