verizon dinc replacement showing s-off

jmjrecj

Oct 28, 2011
Visit site
I get my replacement from Verizon, and from reading on these threads, I looked on hboot to find that it show s-off. So I downloaded Rom manager and it cannot find superuser file. I thought with it being s-off that it was rooted. Any thoughts please.

318sugarhill

Jun 9, 2010
Visit site
I'm not an expert here, but s-off doesn't exactly mean it's rooted. I believe it's telling you that the phone was rooted before, but if it's running a non rooted version of Gingerbread, than having s-off is essential to being able to get the phone re-rooted. I can't point you to where I read it, but if it's truly s-off, I think you can downgrade back to froyo, root it, and then install a custom Rom with Gingerbread (or the rooted stock version).

If I find where I read this I will post it. I'm sure someone with more knowledge than me can answer.

iBowToAndroid

Sep 12, 2010
Visit site
Correct - merely having s-off does not mean you're rooted. It merely means bootloader security has been turned off, allowing you to flash non-official software. To be rooted, you need to have superuser installed, among other things. If you want to root, you first need to see if the phone is on Froyo or GB, and then proceed from there.

Reactions: jmjrecj

jmjrecj

Oct 28, 2011
Visit site
Thank you guys very much, that helps tremendously. I am running Froyo, does that mean that i can follow the standard procedure to root??? Having s-off should not effect that, right?? i have been reading alot on these forums and i think i am ready to root.

318sugarhill

Jun 9, 2010
Visit site
Enjoy. Once you go root, uh. well there is not clever part but you won't go back :)

ibowtoandroid, doesn't unrevoked3 give the Dinc s-off automatically? I know other phones you have to do unrevoked, and then unrevoked forever. I only used unrevoked 3 way back in the day, and it gave me S-off.

iBowToAndroid

Sep 12, 2010
Visit site