Why is the update taking so long to roll out?

davidnc

Super Moderator
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
its vzw they want to piss you off :p ,, maybe today or tomorrow or wednesday , or maybe someone will post the update.zip ? suppose to be this week anyhoo

mikestorm

Nov 5, 2009
Visit site
Verizon deliberately pushes the update out to a certain # of phones per day. Easier on them and easier for them to fix things on the fly if something goes awry on their end.

If they pushed the OTA out simultaneously to everybody and there was a previously undetected issue with the build that bricked everyone's phones, they'd be screwed. This gives them the ability to monitor results as they push.

Also, while I'm not an expert, I think that from a bandwidth point of view that would have to be taxing for them.

tl;dr: it's for your safety and CYA on their part

dirtbiker0025

Apr 30, 2010
Visit site
This was submitted by patches152 who is pretty reliable, i dunno if this has changed or not but,

"10k users will get Froyo Friday, then 100k on Monday, and another 200k every day after that until 9/3"

mikestorm

Nov 5, 2009
Visit site
This was submitted by patches152 who is pretty reliable, i dunno if this has changed or not but,

"10k users will get Froyo Friday, then 100k on Monday, and another 200k every day after that until 9/3"

He's reliable. From what I can tell he's got many friends 'in the know' over at VZW. He was equally spot on over in CB regarding BB updates/phone launches, and the fact that (as far as I can tell) he has more than one friend in the know, he can corroborate the things he hears.

More importantly he's a ninja...so there's that.

That aside, the above schedule: employees first then 10K, 100K, 200K, 200K, etc. makes absolute perfect sense and is exactly how I would go about it.

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site