1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Why is the update taking so long to roll out?

It's monday and stll no update whats going on here??? I want the OTA not the update.zip
    Last edited by jessesmith8888; 08-30-2010 at 06:54 AM.

Global Posts
    6,684 Global Posts
    ROM
    Nexus(AOKP-jb_4.2.1)

its vzw they want to **** you off ,, maybe today or tomorrow or wednesday , or maybe someone will post the update.zip ? suppose to be this week anyhoo

Global Posts
    1,002 Global Posts
    ROM
    Cyanogrnmod 10.2

Verizon deliberately pushes the update out to a certain # of phones per day. Easier on them and easier for them to fix things on the fly if something goes awry on their end.

If they pushed the OTA out simultaneously to everybody and there was a previously undetected issue with the build that bricked everyone's phones, they'd be screwed. This gives them the ability to monitor results as they push.

Also, while I'm not an expert, I think that from a bandwidth point of view that would have to be taxing for them.

tl;dr: it's for your safety and CYA on their part
    Rooted & ROM'd 32GB White Mist Verizon Galaxy S4

Global Posts
    4,265 Global Posts
    ROM
    CM-7

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by jessesmith8888 View Post
    It's monday and stll no update whats going on here??? I want the OTA not the update.zip
    Don't forget that it's also personal. They are deliberately not sending it to any forum posters who might capture the update.zip and thus remove the power and the glory of the OTA!
    Some say that his dormant chips were left that way for YOUR SAFETY... Others say that once "turned on," he can not be turned off... All we know is... He's called The Stig.

This was submitted by patches152 who is pretty reliable, i dunno if this has changed or not but,

"10k users will get Froyo Friday, then 100k on Monday, and another 200k every day after that until 9/3"

Global Posts
    1,002 Global Posts
    ROM
    Cyanogrnmod 10.2