1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Question What does this icon mean???

Im very new to my Incredible, and I dont know what the icon means. It is at the top of my phone where the wi-fi, 3G, battery, etc icons are. It looks like navigation..?? It is a circle with 2 perpendicular lines through it, and 4 arrows on the outside of the circle. Looks like a compass. I have gone to settings and location and tried to turn that off, but the symbol is still on the screen. Please help, thank you!!
    Retired Moderator

Global Posts
    6,356 Global Posts
    ROM
    NOS M7 Sense 5.0

Its your GPS icon

Global Posts
    328 Global Posts
    ROM
    OMFGB

It's your GPS

Global Posts
    379 Global Posts
    ROM
    JellyWiz RLS13

That is the Verizon location services icon. I just use the standalone GPS myself, and have never had a problem with location. You can adjust those settings under settings > location. I believe if you uncheck VZW location services that icon will go away. You might even save some battery life.
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

Thanks guys. I understand that its a GPS...but why is it on there?? It wasnt there a few days ago, and now its popped up and I cant get it to go away. If its on, does that mean the verizon locator can pinpoint where I am? Such as, other phones on my account..are they all sync'ed with the locator? Sorry if my questions are so silly or confusing, I have a VERY limited understanding. LOL!

Global Posts
    4,142 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock

Have you installed any apps recently that could be using the GPS or VZW Location Services?

New York Giants | New Jersey Devils | Colorado Avalanche | New York Knicks
  7. Thread Author  Thread Author    #7