Trouble saving Word Doc on device, then accessing it????

CatB

Aug 15, 2010
Visit site
Ok, so I created a basic Word doc on my desktop and I am trying to put it on my Droid (preferably on my SD card). I connected my Droid to my laptop via USB, chose the option "mount as disc drive", and chose "view files on this device" when the window pops up on my desktop.

Now, I see a LOT of folders when I do that. I have no idea where to drag and drop this Word doc so that I can easily access it on my Droid. Can someone suggest where, in all these files, I should be dropping it? How can I tell which folder is my SD card?

Also, once I do that, how do I view that document on my device and if possible, is there a way to edit that document on my device? (FYI, I do have the free version of Docs to Go but not sure that will do what I need)

Thanks for your help...I am a newbie to the Droid world, so please forgive is these questions seems "newbie" like!

Cas

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
The drive without an emmc directory is your SD card. emmc is located on the internal storage.

You can also Right Click and look at the properties of each drive. The one that matches the size of your SD card is your SD Card. ;)

Just create a directory on your SD Card called Documents, or something along those lines. You should then be able to read it in Docs to Go, but you will have to get the paid version to edit/create Office files.

Hope this helps.

CatB

Aug 15, 2010
Visit site
The drive without an emmc directory is your SD card. emmc is located on the internal storage.

Hmmmm......"emmc directory"???? Consider me embarressed! Sorry...newbie!

I would love to insert a screen shot here, which I have saved to my desktop but for some reason, cannot figure out how to get it to be visible in a post. suggestions????

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
On mine, the SD card is the first drive that comes up of the 3 that show up when you plug the phone in to the PC.