USB Ethernet dongle

Jeepzor

May 7, 2010
Visit site
I'm an electrician in a lumber mill and one of my jobs in the setup and maintenance of our IP cameras. Currently before plugging them into the network we use a laptop to do all the setup and focusing at the location the plug it into the network and finish it all back in the shop. I've come across software in the Android Market that allows IP camera viewing and whatnot but since our camera network is its own physical network and doesn't have WiFi I can't use my incredible to access any of the cameras.

What I'm looking to do is use one of those USB ethernet dongles and plug it into my incredible in hopes of getting into our Camera network and do all the setup without having the bring out a laptop or anything. All this said I haven't tried it yet since I heard somewhere that the android code doesn't have drivers for any ethernet use.

Anyone know anything about this?

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
You will not be able to use a usb/ethernet dongle for network on the DInc. You are correct; there are no drivers to support it.

Your easiest solution is use a Linksys WAP54g access point. You can configure it as a AP, Wireless Client or Bridge. If you set it up as a client and then connect to the phones wi-fi hotspot you should be able to access the camera through the browser.

On second thought, it may not be an easy solution but it should work.

Jeepzor

May 7, 2010
Visit site
yea I have thought about that in the past but the mill stretches well beyond the max range of any single wireless access point, I'd have to install quite a few and if I couldn't find drives for the dongle I'll just stick with the laptop.

Just figured it would be uber awesome to be able to do all that with my phone :)

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site