Rooting my old fassy

bbudnick5001

Mar 27, 2012
Visit site
I have a gnex currently and have been researching and trying to teach my self about rooting and flashing rooms and such. I have some questions though.....
What are some good up to date guides to root my phone? My fascinate is stock Verizon, when I thought I was going to sell it I did a factory reset on it. Now I can't get on the phone without prompts to activate. Will this give me issues? Do I HAVE to activate the phone or can I root and flash some ics rooms without doing so? Of course I won't be able to get data connections and such but like I said I really want to do some experimenting with this phone. Thanks for all your help in advance! Some of the links I have tried on other threads seem to be old or not in use anymore and that is why I'm posting. Once again I am new to this stuff.

sushiguy732

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
Here is the guide I used to flash Gummy ICS on my phone coming from stock.
Supa's Useless Information: How to flash ICS on the Samsung Fascinate!

One thing I changed. Where it says ICS Build 9 (Latest), instead of that I used Gummy ICS

You should be able to do all of this without activating your phone. but like you said, you won't get data or cell. I wonder if you can use it as a WiFi only device....

Reactions: icu

icu

Oct 29, 2010
Visit site
Here is the guide I used to flash Gummy ICS on my phone coming from stock.
Supa's Useless Information: How to flash ICS on the Samsung Fascinate!

One thing I changed. Where it says ICS Build 9 (Latest), instead of that I used Gummy ICS

You should be able to do all of this without activating your phone. but like you said, you won't get data or cell. I wonder if you can use it as a WiFi only device....

You switched from Gummy to THS's offering? I think I'd feel better going with THS as they've not failed me before.