Need help getting CWM Recovery :(

mbuxx

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
I load odin, plug in phone, yellow box shows up. I click pda and find the .tar file and this is what i get..

<ID:0/005> Added!!
<ID:0/005> Odin v.3 engine (ID:5)..
<ID:0/005> File analysis..
<ID:0/005> SetupConnection..

it just gets stuck at setup connection forever...

Can anyone help?

EDIT: also, i have a samsung fascinate with telus not with verizon... i dont know if that matters... i am a noob, but am rather good with computers!

thanks

shaundizzle

Oct 19, 2010
Visit site
You don't use Odin to flash clockwork recovery.

Odin's for a fresh reset to take away clockwork and root

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk

mbuxx

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
What could I use then? I was following the instructioms by namesbrandon I believe...
Any other suggestions would be great thanks!

mbuxx

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
Thanks kevin this is what I was understanding also...do you have any ideas to help me out?...also is there a way to back up so I can restore if anything goes wrong.

mbuxx

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
hmm is this the only way to install clockwork? all i wanna do is install jt's super clean rom and debloat my phone..any words of wisdom? lol

Groundhound

Jul 20, 2010
Visit site
When I first attempted to use Odin to install CWM it failed. The failure was corrected for me by taking my unpowered USB hub out and connecting the phone directly to the USB port on my computer.

6spdtls

Sep 13, 2010
Visit site
To get you out of trouble......

*This method only works on verizon fascinate.....not other variants(also doesn't work on mac or linux users)
1. Make sure you have Samsung drivers installed on your pc
2. Download odin from here to your pc
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/458252/Odin Files/Odin3 v1.3.exe
3. Download clockwork package to your pc
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/458252/CWMrecovery.tar
*create a folder and put those two files together on pc
4. go to setting-> application-> development-> USB debugging