[GUIDE] Fascinate Beginners rooting read me *3/31/11*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheepdog Elite

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
*please be sure to read the disclaimer at the end of this post*

So I'm fairly new to the rooting community, and I wanted to write this post while it's all fresh in my brain. There are a bunch of awesome How to threads, props to DroidXcon, Gunnermike, adrynalyne, and the legion here in the forums for all the help and work they put it. Listen when they speak and remember to thank them. Thanks to Gunnermike for his contributions, and steering this post in the right direction, Landshark for a little nudge to keep this up to date, and DroidXcon for keeping me from noobing up my first sticky. Wait. That's the point here right? Oh well :p

That being said I suppose a lot of my questions haven't been "How do I?" but more "Why should I, What is, and Where do I?" I'm going to attempt to explain a lot of basics and outline the overall process without getting mucked up with how to.

I'm still new so anyone with more info can feel free to correct me, contribute, and expand upon what I relate here. I will probably miss a lot of credit, but I'll try to link appropriate threads because I wouldn't know anything without most of them.

As a basis for everything here, once you are rooted I STRONGLY recommend that you purchase Titanium Backup Pro key (or my backup pro which I have not used and cannot recommend). It will take 99% of the risk out of what you are doing. Use it to back up all of your apps, even if you have to totally reset your phone in the course of rooting, titanium back up will keep you from losing everything. The difference between the paid and free versions is a 15 minutes restore, as opposed to a "3 hour tour." By tour i mean restore one app at a time in a nearly manual fashion, except they come with all your data.